Scholarship Program

MCCA Scholarship Award

MCCA is proud to offer annual scholarships to graduating senior cheerleaders.  $14,000 in scholarships are awarded, ten $1000 scholarships, one $2000 scholarship and one $2000 Suzy Thompson Scholarship.

General Information Checklist:

  • Individuals will be awarded a one-year, non-renewable scholarship.

  • Applicant’s coach must be a member (dues paid) of MCCA.

  • Applicant must have a 3.0 grade-point average by the end of his/her

              junior year.  Finalists may be asked to submit their final GPA at the

              end of the 1st semester of their senior year.

  • Applicant must complete the MCCA Scholarship application form.

  • Winners must attend the MCCA Spring Conference to accept the

              scholarship. The banquet date for this year’s conference is March 21, 2020.


Guidelines for filling out application form:

 Complete ALL the information on the application form.  Be sure to have all necessary signatures.  Signatures include:

  • Counselor to verify GPA.

  • Coach


You must submit three (3) letters of recommendation.  They are as follow:

  • Coach- responsibility, reliability, leadership qualities, and      contributions.

  • High School Administrator – same data as coach’s letter, but from an administrator’s viewpoint.

  • Community Representative – (4-H leaders, scout leader, business person, religious leader, etc.) how community representative knows the applicant, impressions of the applicant’s ability to represent the community, etc.


Submit an essay on an additional piece of paper.  The title of the essay is “What Cheerleading Means to Me.”   Also discuss what you have gained from the activity.  This essay should be no longer that one (1) typewritten



Mail ALL Application materials and letters of recommendation in ONE envelope to:


Barb Hodges

MCCA Scholarship Director

803 S. 20th St.

Unionville, MO  63565



2017 Recipients

2018 Recipients

$2000 Scholarship Winners

Emily Braun, Union HS (Coach Sarah Otto)

Morgan Wojiciechowski, Republic HS (Coach Mathew Massey)

$1000 Scholarship Winners

Kristen Chavana, Pacific HS (Coach Casey Cowsert)

Brianna Evans, Rockwood Summit HS (Coach Michelle Kasch)

Margaret Gaunce, Penney HS (Coach Renae Wattenbarger)

Brianna Gerling, Northwest HS (Coach Elizabeth Green)

Tara Hull, Maryville HS (Coach Martrea Taylor)

Kolby Ray, Putnam County HS (Coach Lisa Stobbe)

Brittany Rothwell, Neosho HS (Coach Alli Wylly)

Taylor Smart, Osceola HS (Coach Mary Smart)

Kaley Thies, East Carter HS (Coach Kaylea Mullen)

Sabrina Zern, Liberty HS (Coach Brenda Moats)